final 2 weeks in bkk

Hello everyone!!! So sorry that I haven’t been updating my wordpress at all:/ Cracking my head up for practical examinations report and also practicing for the sugar exams next week. Time really is passing really quickly… I only have 2 weeks left in the school and in bangkok. I’m really excited that I’ll be able to be back in Singapore soon, but parts of me wants to stay in bkk. Somehow, I don’t really feel like graduating just yet. I feel that I still have a lot to learn from the chefs, but I guess I gotta start working and learn from there. Anyways, written exams is this coming Wednesday and the sugar showpiece exams is on Thursday. The sugar showpiece exams and the final cake exams is 5 hours long. We’ve done the workshop for sugar showpiece, and believe me, it is ultra tiring. Never thought making the sugar showpiece for 5 hours straight was such a chore. Though exams is only 5hours, we used 5.5hours for our workshop and everyone had cuts and burns from it): So now, we just got to rest our fingers till the actual exams and think of what to do for our showpiece after receiving chef’s advice. Also, week after next, we will be having our workshop for cake and the final examinations. Really worried for that though but I think I should just focus on what’s coming first.

So now, I’ll show you the products I’ve made for the past weeks!

ImageImage

Our cute little minions made out of chocolates!!:D (the first picture,most right hand side is mine) Everyone really loved making it. It’s really fun too! So in the 2nd picture, I present to you, SPB MINION FAMILY!

Image

Chocolate box! It took us 2 practicals to make this. So technically, 6 hours in total:/ And let’s just say… flowers and I don’t really go well together. Mine looks so weird): Also, this is the end of using chocolates!):

Image

Our ‘wedding cake’? Suppose to be a wedding cake but somehow it looks more like a children birthday cake. But oh wells! This will be the base of our sugar showpiece apparently:/ Hopefully the showpiece will stay on top of it! (Check out my colorful bear, it’s so cool right?:D) Oh it’s non-edible by the way. It’s styrofoam inside.

Image

The first time I made poured sugar structure! It turned out pretty alright I guess. But the second time one was pretty bad.. You’ll see it later.

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

And these are the practice before my final sugar exams. As you can see, my flowers are getting better, but my ribbon is still… not so good. Hopefully I can do better during the actual exams. The first ever show piece made by me is also very… bent? I didn’t cook the sugar properly, thus the structure was not strong enough. Let’s just pray that next week everything will go more smoothly.

Special thanks to james and ball for helping us throughout the workshops and previous practicals. Especially ball for helping and teaching me how to make a nicer rose(: Hopefully I will do just fine for the exams!

After the sugar workshop, everyone was starving and dying from the heat we suffered for the whole 5.5 hours. So Christina, Mew and I went out for a dinner to celebrate our completion of our sugar training.

Image

Yes we are 3 girls but we eat ALOT. We spent all our remaining money for desserts and then finally go back home for a good night sleep.

Past weeks have been really hectic and I’ve been kind of sickly for the past days. Couldn’t get enough rest and always over thinking. Can’t wait to finish my exams so I can rest without thinking of sugar,chocolate or bananas anymore. And I’m really getting jealous of all my friends having breaks and holidays right now while I am still busy preparing for exams.): 2 more weeks till I’m back! Also, 2 weeks plus more till CHRISTMAS!!! I’ll update again soon after the cake workshop! Good luck to all the other students(: Till the next post, bye bye!

 

xx,

charmaine

Leave a comment